Titan's Progress - Parts & Score

FaberSKU: FBM 0-571-56967-6



Titan's Progress - Parts & Score
Composed by Hermann Pallhuber

Championship Section - National Brass Band Championship Finals 2019
Duration: 17 minutes

"Titan" was a novel by the German author Johann Paul Friedrich Richter, who later called himself Jean Paul. It is considered the author’s main work and he referred to it as his ‘cardinal and capital novel’. It is almost 900 pages in length and tells the story of the transition of its hero, Albano de Cesara, from a passionate youth to a mature man. Jean Paul was one of Gustav Mahler’s favourite authors and the latter gave the original five-movement version of his first symphony the subtitle The Titan — in deference to Jean Paul’s novel.

Titan’s Progress, which was Pallhuber's first work for the British style brass band, also contains references to the music of Gustav Mahler. Motifs from his First Symphony are employed throughout (like the trumpet signals, the interval of a falling fourth, and chromatically falling triplets), especially the principal theme of the finale. Pallhuber has adapted this heroic martial motif as the basis for the main theme of his own Titan’s Progress — the chorale melody which is heard three times in all and represents the progress of Albano’s ‘titanic’ spirit from youthful innocence to mature experience. Pallhuber's music is programmatic and uses the content of the novel and its hero Albano’s evolution for its underlying structure. The stylistic variety of the work (including the "Chorale", an impudent "Làndler", a dancing "Farandole", and a climactic "Fugue") is Mahleresque in its influences.

Pay in Instalments - Flexible Payments with V12

Delivery & Returns

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed